Reviews
Reviews
Circle with arrow

Reviews and Testimonials

We care about clients and quality of the service we provide, that is why feel free to let us know about your experience at our shop.

Patricia, Chicago, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
04/19/2017
Please do not hesitate if you need any upholstering work please call them. They made my 20year old leather couch look bran new. There work is exceptional. There delivery men are very polite & professional & careful with your furniture. I'm extremely happy. Thank you Patricia. Palos Height Il.

angela, Buffalo Grove, IL
No image No image No image No image No image
03/31/2017
I recently had Universal Upholstering upholster an arm on a leather loveseat, they did a fantastic job, it looks great. The price seemed a little high but you get what you pay for and it looks like new now. The owner was very helpful and the pick up/delivery guys were very professional. I would definitely use these guys again and will recommend to anyone in need of a good upholstery shop.

Alina A, Crystal Lake, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
12/29/2016
Brought my recliner chair in for reupholstery the whole process was quick and painless and the work was outstanding. Super friendly and very knowledgeable staff. Would recommend Universal Upholstering to any one who is in need of reupholstery.

C G., Lombard, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
02/11/2016
If there were 6 stars I would give it to them. Really a terrific job in smoothing and patching some deep scratches (from my little terrier!) on my leather sofa. The gentleman,Serge,took his time and I could tell he was really concentrating on doing a good job, and not just "getting it done" so he can get home, so to speak. I could tell he was taking his time to do the job right. I did some price quotes with several different companies, and this company not only did a really terrific job, but their prices are absolutely reasonable. I will be recommending this company to ANYbody that needs help with furniture issues. When I was looking at the finished couch, it looked brand new and I couldn't even tell where I pointed out the original scratches for him to fix! Now THAT is a good job. Oh, a little side footnote to you dog lovers:Don't let your dogs on your leather couch unless you put something down on it. If they see a squirrel out the patio window, they will take off if you have a dog like mine (a relentless terrier!!), and bolt to the patio door. ie; there go your nail scratches on your sofa! Lol Thank you again Serge! Whatever they pay you is not enough.!

Debbie M., Buffalo Grove, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image
01/20/2016
I had 6 kitchen chairs that I wanted reupholstered. They just needed some updating. Universal Upholstering was recommended to me. They did a great job at a reasonable price. The storefront is in a strip mall and nothing special, but I would rather they spend their money on quality employees, (which apparently they did) than a fancy showroom. My only negative was that it took a little longer than I had hoped but I am glad they are busy as they do a very nice job. I dealt mostly with Eugene but everyone I had contact with was equally helpful and polite. I will look around my house for more furniture to be upholstered. Keep up the good work!

TR M., Shorewood, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image
04/10/2015
I have been debating between 3 and 4 stars, but have settled on 4 stars and here's why. Two Men & a Truck have a contract with Universal Upholstering to repair damage caused by their incompetent and very poorly trained moving crew. During a recent move, Two Men damaged 5 pieces of furniture, 4 of which are very high end, heirloom-quality pieces. Universal Upholstering actually did a pretty good job in repairing the variety of nicks, dings, gauges, scuffs, chips, etc. They took great pains to do their very best to match paint colors, finishes and techniques to make the repairs blend in as much as possible. And, for the most part, they were very easy to deal with. I would also like to mention that Universal's moving crew moved the 5 pieces back once they were finished and they did an outstanding job! They treated the furniture as if it was their own. The only area that can be improved upon is communication. At times it was a bit difficult to get updates on the progress of the repairs. I think this was partly due to the fact that Two Men was the actual client and they were being most disagreeable. I think it put Universal in the position of trying to be the servant to two masters. So, all things considered, I would highly recommend Universal for their high level of skill and true craftsmanship. It can be very difficult to find a company that takes pride in its work, and Universal Upholstering really seems to do just that!

Jerry S., Grayslake, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
10/05/2014
I'm writing this letter because I would like you to know how I feel about the recent restoration work you have done on my two chairs. Your company was recommended to me and I'm glad that I called you. I spoke with you and told you what (I) would like to have done and you made recommendations on what would work. Both chairs had the seat cushions replaced and the seat backs were re-stuffed. When the work was done and the chairs were returned I was really surprised how well they looked. Then I sat down and WOW, they were both brand new chairs again. The fellows that picked up and delivered the chairs were very polite and careful about damaging anything when they removed and returned the chairs. They also told me there was an adjustment in the cost due to the fact that less material was needed. So here we have a shop that does fantastic renovations and repairs and is sincere about what it charges. I say Thank You Very Much for everything. I will definitely get in touch with this company if I ever have a need for their services in the future

Earl R., New York, NY
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
04/02/2014
I decided to re-upholster two love seats and a couch with Universal rather than buy new. They had been top of the line furniture with really good hardwood frames. They were tattered , soiled and the cushions way too soft but the pieces had "good bones." I was doing this for a grand re-opening party and Eugene ran me through the fabric options, explained that with new straps, foam for the cushions, and fabric that they would be "better than new". The guests at the party had a hard time believing it was the same furniture! We decided to forgo the skirts at the bottom for a more modern look. The deliverymen who picked up and delivered were their own employees and were conscientious and careful. The job was done at the agreed price and most importantly was on time for the party! They really take pride in their work.

Phillip L., Libertyville, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
02/15/2014
I can't say enough positive words about these folks. I brought a vintage mid century modern three piece sectional to them, provided my own fabric, and they did a fantastic job restoring it to the photos I provided them from our old family photos. A few months later I found a vintage Lane wood coffee table that needed to be refinished. The restored it all by hand because of the fragile wood veneer. It looks beautiful. I would recommend Universal to friends and family. Reasonable and fair pricing, excellent work, and a reasonable turn around time to get it all done.

Marina D., Chicago, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
01/25/2014
Universal Upholstering designed & created my HEADBOARD. It was my first experience with them. The owner Leon, was incredibly knowledgeable. He spent a lot of time with me. He educated me on the creative process & recomimended fabrics that were durable. Al was my consultant. He has phenomenal taste & amazing professionalism & customer service skills. He raised Issues with me that I had never considered. Al determined the height & scale of the HEADBOARD in proportion to my ceiling height, bedroom size & type of bed. He explained the options of the padding & finishes. He even suggested a matching bed skirt. Al personally delivered and installed my headboard. I LOVE my HEADBOARD. It is the focal point of my bedroom & a one of a kind piece.

Frank C., Island Lake, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
06/08/2013
Based on previous positive reviews, I used Universal Upholstering to reupholster my sofa. I had Universal Upholstering pick up my old sofa on Monday, and the job was finished by Thursday! They did a fantastic job-- ( This was not easy, as the sofa was in really bad condition) Their price was very reasonable and Leon was friendly and easy to work with. Would definitely use them again. Thanks to Universal Upholstering making my old sofa into a brand new one!!!!!

Barry J., Northbrook, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
06/08/2013
I recently had some major damage to leather sectional and was sure that nothing can be done. Leon was very knowledgable and came up with a fast and very reasonably priced solution. It took only a few days to repair and it looked just like the day I purchased it. These guys really know what they are doing and I recommend them to my family and friends all the time. Thank you Leon and your staff! Keep up the great work.

Gary A., Gurnee, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
04/10/2013
This is the 2nd time I have given Universal my business for covering my motorcycle seat. 1st time was aces and now the 2nd time around? even better! These guys know their trade inside and out and will be back when I have another project to complete. I trust their quality of work implicitly. Thanks Leon! You guys are THE BOMB!

Don J., Wheeling, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
03/19/2013
We just had two wing chairs reupholstered by Universal. They picked them up and delivered them back to us in just one week. They look (and better yet, FEEL) like brand new chairs, maybe even better than when we first bought them! While the work was not inexpensive, we think it was worth the cost.

Robert S., Mount Prospect, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image
01/30/2013
They did a great job on my 1956 chevy pick up, the detail was great! it was all done in a timely fashion. I'm thinking about having them do my boat!! Great job fella's

Vanessa B., Chicago, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image
12/02/2012
Recently our couch arm was falling off so I had Universal Upholstering come out and give it a look. They were able to fix it on the spot for a reasonable price and it seems to be holding up well, though I suppose time will tell. I would definitely call them again, and in fact might end up doing so to have them reupholster the very same couch.

Victor C., Northbrook, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
08/29/2012
Fantastic furniture shop, excellent service with quality work and affordable prices. Highly recommend to anyone! Had a leather sofa and loveseat reupholstered this time, and a couple of chairs repaired a while back. Great job guys!

MaryJo N., Glenview, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
08/02/2012
We have used Universal Upholstering on several occasions. They recovered our office furniture a few years ago and we were very pleased. We recently had a massive sofa sectional recovered and they did a beautiful job! They have fabric samples in their showroom or you can choose your own. I chose my fabric from Loomcraft and Universal picked up the fabric at my home when they picked up the sofa. The work was completed in five days! The pieces were delivered back to our home by their very careful movers. They were wrapped in plastic to protect them on the truck. Our sofa looks better than new and is more comfortable than ever! I would not hesitate to use them again.

Michael F., Highland Park, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
05/08/2012
We brought in 2 leather bar stools that had become stained in some way. One, on which we tried everything to repair, was a disaster, In fact, we bought a replacement for it. When a second stool became damaged in the same way, we brought both into Universal. They restored both chairs to perfect condition. I couldn't believe it (also couldn't believe I had unnecessarily purchased a replacement stool). We plan to bring our six dining room chairs in for reupholstering.

Tina K., Chicago, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
06/17/2011
The company I worked for need 17 chairs redone. Universal Upholstering did a great job and we are very happy with them. I would recommend them to any one in IL needing this type of service.

Daniel A., Buffalo Grove, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
08/29/2010
Thank you for doing an amazing job on repairing and reupholstering my chairs. Universal Upholstering's estimate was lower than anybody else's, I got the free online estimate by submitting photos, and I paid exactly what the estimate said - no surprise fees. When I first came in, a customer was leaving and saying their furniture is "better than new". When I came to pick up my chairs, I heard a different customer was also saying "better than new". When I saw MY chairs, I had to tell them the same thing, and they really were: BETTER THAN NEW! I'm sure they hear it all the time, but the least I can do is put it in writing. Thank you again for a great price and high quality work.

Alex V., Wheeling, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
06/10/2010
Wonderful service, excellent prices. Last year, I had my car seats reupholstered here, and they've done a fantastic job! This month (June, 2010) I brought an old chair that needed major repair, and once again, they did amazingly well - they made it even better than new, and I got it for a much lower price than I expected. Thank you very much, Universal Upholstering Inc.

Marina P., Buffalo Grove, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
02/27/2010
Great place! First, I went there to get my sofa re-upholstered. They did an incredible job that it looks better then it did when I first bought it. Now I call them for everything like scratches made by my dog on my leather couch, window treatments...anything I need, they can do. Sweet little man named leon always helps me out.

Stephanie P., Chicago, IL
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
08/24/2009
I have a medium sized sectional sofa that would not fit out of my apartment when the movers attempted to get it out. I set up an appointment with Universal Upholstering to disassemble/reassemble my couch and do the same to my boyfriend's couch (relocate his to our basement). They started at 10am and were finished shortly before 2pm. All of the work included couch disassembly/reassembly on 2 couches and a 15 minute drive to my new apartment. The total cost was $550. The work was great! They did an excellent job and were very polite. They also were very careful in keeping things tidy and not dinging the walls. I am not planning on moving again soon. However, I would not hesitate to use this service again. Highly, highly recommended!

Abigail H., Denver, CO
No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle No image circle
06/05/2009
When our new sofa would not fit in our apartment, we called Universal Upholstering Inc. for help, and within 4 hours, their polite technicians were in the garage taking apart our sofa. I could not be happier with their work. Both technicians cleaned up every single staple or nail in our garage, vacuumed around their mess inside, and did a beautiful job with our sofa. The cost was reasonable for the amount of work (they were here for 3 hours), and at $300, much lower than some of the other companies that do furniture "knock-downs". I will definitely call them back when we move out of our apartment to do it again!